Support the Barn

Peter Lenz "Lithium" Album Release with Aaron Novik's O+O+ and Kidambi/Branch/Lipscomb/Lopez

Wed, April 6 '16


Pᴇᴛᴇʀ Lᴇɴᴢ 'Lɪᴛʜɪᴜᴍ' Aʟʙᴜᴍ Rᴇʟᴇᴀsᴇ with Aᴀʀᴏɴ Nᴏᴠɪᴋ's O+O+ ᴀɴᴅ Kɪᴅᴀᴍʙɪ/Bʀᴀɴᴄʜ/Lɪᴘsᴄᴏᴍʙ/Lᴏᴘᴇᴢ

Peter Lenz composed the music for this album during a one-month retreat in the Austrian mountains. His music explores the intersections of different genres and combines influences of modern jazz, contemporary classical music and a dose of indie-rock. Twelve-tone rows, Messiaen scales and rock beats in the context of this agile jazz quartet create a sublime and atmospheric chamber music. Tonight's quartet features Chris Speed on sax and clarinet, Keisuke Matsuno on guitar, Marty Kenney on bass, and composer Peter Lenz on drums. _

Aaron Novik is a recent Brooklyn transplant that lived and performed in the Bay Area for 17 years. There he led the bands Gubbish, Kipple, Floating World, Love Triangle Elementary School, Simulacra, Thorny Brocky and made records under his own name as well, including the album “Secrets of Secrets” which was released on Tzadik records in 2012. Aaron also performed with the bass clarinet quartet Edmund Welles, the Nathan Clevenger Group, Telepathy, Colin Stetson’s Transmission, Graham Connah and most notably in Fred Frith’s Gravity band, which has played festivals around the world. His O+O+ ensemble brings Aaron's inventive compositions to life with joyful horns, sinuous clarinet, and an airtight rhythm section. _

Amirtha Kidambi is invested in the performance, investigation and exploration of creative musics, ranging from Carnatic vocal, free improvisation, experimental art rock and new music. As a bandleader with Elder Ones and as soloist, collaborator and ensemble member in groups such as, the early Renaissance inspired dark folk band Seaven Teares, the homemade analog percussion and visuals group Ashcan Orchestra, and vocal quartet Elizabeth-Caroline Unit, Amirtha has performed in a variety of venues from DIY spaces to concert halls including Carnegie Hall, Issue Project Room, Silent Barn, Whitney Museum, Le Poisson Rouge and The Kitchen. Tonight's new quartet features Jaimie Branch on trumpet, Jon Lipscomb on guitar, and Brandon Lopez on bass.